Ottawa’s municipal election campaign is on

The 175-day race to the municipal ballot box begins today in Ottawa.

Today is the first day that candidates for mayor, councilor and school trustee can submit their candidacy to run in the 2022 municipal elections. Candidates can start accepting contributions and spending money on their campaign once nomination forms have been filed and approved by the city.

Election day is set for Monday, October 24.

There will be a new mayor and at least seven new councilors at Ottawa City Hall after the election.

Jim Watson has announced that he will not stand for re-election after three terms as mayor of Canada’s capital. Watson was first elected mayor of the amalgamated city of Ottawa in 2010 and was re-elected in 2014 and 2018.

Four councilors have said they will not seek re-election – Jean Cloutier, Keith Egli, Jan Harder and Scott Moffatt. Two current councilors have announced they will run for mayor – Diane Deans and Catherine McKenney.

And a new councilor will sit at the council table this election, as Ottawa adds a 24th ward to accommodate the growing population. The new neighborhood is “Quartier 24 – Barrhaven East”.

Mayoral race

Bob Chiarelli will kick off his mayoral campaign at 10:30 a.m. Monday, when he registers as a mayoral candidate. Chiarelli was elected the amalgamated city of Ottawa’s first mayor in 2000 and served two terms as mayor before losing in the 2006 election.

Both Deans and McKenney announced in December that they would run for mayor of Ottawa in this election.

Candidates for mayor, councilor and school trustee have until Friday, August 19 to submit their nomination form.

Leave a Comment