Skipper Rohit Sharma is nearing full fitness, ready to join India’s T20I and ODI squad

Image source: GETTY

Rohit Sharma is fast approaching his top form

As the T20I World Cup is fast approaching, all the cricket teams around the world are busy preparing for the mega event. India on their way to the T20I World Cup will play three T20Is against dominating England. India have currently played against South Africa and Ireland and have won 4 of their 7 T20I games under Hardik Pandya and Rishabh Pant.

When India landed in the UK for their limited series and single test match, captain Rohit Sharma was expected to make it into the final playing eleven in the seven matches but sadly the Indian skipper came down with COVID-19 and missed the important test match. The entire Indian team came under the scanner when they were found flouting COVID protocols.

The one-off test match being played at Edgbaston was originally part of the Red Ball’s Indian tour of England last year. With COVID wreaking havoc in various parts of Britain, the match had to be postponed and it was mutually agreed between the ECB and BCCI that the remaining test match will be played when India travel to England for their tour of white ball in 2022.

Sources close to BCCI now say Rohit has recovered and is now accelerating towards full fitness and will be part of India’s white ball matches.

The Indian team for the 1st T20I: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel , Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Indian team for 2nd and 3rd T20I: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah , Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik

Indian squad for 3 ODIs: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, J Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Shami , Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

Leave a Comment