RiverValley Donates Over $6,000 to Mental Health Art Contest

On Wednesday, River Valley Behavioral Health held its second annual youth mental health art competition and was able to donate $6,100 to community members and organizations.

In May, during Mental Health Awareness Month, RVBH invited students from kindergarten to grade 12 to submit a visual art project to express the importance of mental health on the theme “Be kind to Your spirit”.

They received a total of 245 student applications from their seven-county service area.

“We are grateful to the schools and youth organizations that offer support and encouragement to these students. Thank you for helping us spread a message of hope and remember to ‘Be Kind to Your Mind,’” said RVBH President and CEO Dr. Wanda Figueroa-Peralta.

The organization gave cash prizes ranging from $100 to $1,000 to participants for their contribution to art and community partners.

Community partner John Paul II Catholic School in Morganfield received the Mental Health Partner of the Year award for having the most art contest entries with 41.

RGBH also presented Becca McQueen-Roark, vice president of student affairs at Kentucky Wesleyan College, with the inaugural Dianne McFarling Memorial Award.

“This award celebrates the dedication of KWC staff and administrators to promoting mental health on its campus, addressing mental health stigma and increasing suicide prevention efforts,” said Brooke Arnold, director of the Regional Prevention Center.

The two winners received $1,000 and a plaque.

RGBH also awarded $500 and a matching donation to winners’ schools in all divisions.

Mercy Tanner of the Owensboro iMiddle School won the Division I Youth Art Contest Project of the Year and received $500.

Logan Jefers and Briana Stallings also won $500 for themselves and Ohio County High School and Kentucky Wesleyan College in Divisions II and III, respectively.

The winners among the individual categories are as follows:

Division I Winners (K-6):

  • Kindergarten Level Winner Sebastian Bradshaw – Newton Parrish Elementary School
  • Molly Hayden, Grade 1 winner – Calhoun Elementary School
  • Adele Doyal, winner of the 2nd grade level – Sutton Elementary School
  • Ameera Ramin, Grade 3 Winner – Dixon Elementary School
  • Eliza Johns, Grade 4 Winner – Sturgis Elementary School
  • Larken Roach, Grade 5 winner – Audubon Elementary School

Division II Winners (Grades 7-12):

  • Mallory Hendrickson, Grade 7 Level Winner – Catholic John Paul II
  • Allyson Miller, Grade 8 Winner – South Middle School
  • Jodi Mitchell, Grade 9 winner – McLean County High School
  • McKenna Russin, Grade 10 winner – Henderson County High School
  • Madison Devine, Grade 11 winner – Hancock County High School

All of the above earned $100 for winning in their division.

Leave a Comment