Annihilator Shares Cover Of Van Halen’s ‘Romeo Delight’ With Dave Lombardo, Stu Block


earMUSIC released the latest single from DESTROYERcoming “Metal II” album, a cover of FROM HALEN‘s “Romeo Delight”.

“Metal II”, arriving on February 18, kicks off this lengthy campaign, which will feature special configurations, additional bonus features and exclusive and previously unheard of new songs from the band.

“There was something left” ‘Women and children first’, ” muses DESTROYER‘s Jeff Waters. “It was an enormously brutal attitude to aggression – meets a” David Lee Rothfront party. You have to remember when this came out. ‘Romeo Delight’ is the most ‘heavy’ song of FROM HALEN, in my (and Kerry King‘s!) opinion. The photos on the cover/back cover of ‘Women and children first’ were impactful. It was a green cover and it was a photo of the band posing for a recording of a record cover and instead of blowing that photo up to the full size of the LP, they cropped it so that it was one third the size of the album. the plate and everything around it was green. I would stare at the front and back photos for hours! Eddie was like a second father in a way. millions [of others] probably feel that way too and only fans of his from then could understand this.”

He continues: “His playing, writing, performance and smile were second to none. EVER. He was an amazing writer, lead guitar innovator, genius rhythm player and was able to build an acceleration empire. He took a risk. Thing. It worked. Millions and more will mourn him as long as the future world loves music. But we will also celebrate forever, because musicians the’EVH-influence-musical-genes’ to future generations!”

“Metal II” has received an incredible overhaul with the one and only Dave Lombardo (KILLER) killing the drums and lead vocals “reinvented” by the great Stu Block (IN ETERNITY, FROZEN EARTH). The guest list on the album is huge: Willie Adler (LAMB OF GOD), Alexi Laiho (CHILDREN OF BODOM), Steve “Lips” Kudlow (ANVIL), Dan Beehler (EXCITER), Jesper Stromblad (IN FLAMES), Angela Gossow (ARCH ENEMY), Jeff Loomis (Arnemy, NEVER AGAIN), Anders Bjorler (THE HAUNTED, AT THE GATES) and Corey Beaulieu (TRIVIUM).

waters the mixing tasks handed over to the legendary engineer Mike Fraser (AC/DC, FROM HALEN) and it has been remastered by Maor Appelbaum.

When waters was asked “Which record would you do again, if you could and why?”, without hesitation it was “Metal”. So what we have now is a 2021 record called “Metal II”, appropriately, featuring all of the original guest tracks from 2007 featuring Jeff Waters in charge.

“One of the greatest engineers/mixers in the world, Mike Fraser, was my first choice to mix these,” Jeff say. “It was a challenge as Mike was not brought in to make a record; he was just there mixing up a big mess of songs recorded in 2006 and 2021 and with over 14 players on it. After this difficult mix, I promised Mike that I would do another record with him, from scratch.”

Dave was once in my favorite band (KILLER),” waters says, “and continues to evolve and play in many different bands, such as” ACCIDENTS, SUICIDES, DEATH CROSS, mr. BUNGEL and many other projects. It was an honor to be on the same record as Lombardo. And he uses the ‘rule in blood’ pelvic riding!! Yes! The ACTUAL ride cymbal we hear on that classic record.”

waters reveals that “stu has been the singer I (publicly) wanted to be DESTROYER‘s singer, since I heard him in the Canadian band IN ETERNITY, but I never got the chance to get it! He’s the next generation of great vocalists grabbing the mic from icons like [Bruce] Dickinson and [Rob] Halford. And our paths should have crossed a long time ago, but here we are!

“So I got them both”, waters continues, “and they both loved the tunes and both said ‘FUCK YES’! And I said to stu“You’ve got three takes,” so there’s spots and warts and fuck-ups everywhere. And I said the same to Dave, ‘do it’. And it’s great to see pros do this because you don’t have the best sounds, but you do have the best players.”

waters close, “Although Alexi Laihois shredding ‘Direct dominate’ and the FROM HALEN song ‘Romeo Delight’ were recorded a while ago, with the addition: stu and Dave these songs made us all feel that ‘Metal II’ is also a fitting tribute to our two fallen guitar heroes. Ed and Alexic, REST IN PEACE”

“Metal II” tracklist:

01. Chasing the High (ft. Willie Adler)

02. Outright dominate (ft. Alexi Laiho)

03. One man army (ft. Steve “Lips” Kudlow)

04. Suicide Couple (ft. Danko Jones and Angela Gossow)

05. Heavy Metal Maniac (ft. Dan Beehler and Allan Johnson)

06. bewitched (ft. Jesper Strömblad)

07. Romeo Delight

08. explosion (vt. Jacob Lynam)

09. clown parade (with Jeff Loomis)

10. smothered (ft. Anders Bjorler)

11. kicked (ft. Corey Beaulieu)

Canada’s DESTROYER is the life’s work of waters. Founded in 1984, the band took the metal scene by storm with their 1989 debut “Alice in Hell”, upped the ante by 1990’s “Never Never Land” and has since continued a nonstop career pattern of releasing records and touring with many of the biggest bands in the metal genre (mostly all outside of North America); cement DESTROYER as the best-selling metal act in Canadian history.

DESTROYER has given the metal world a sound that is one of the clearest, most flavorful blends of huge, metal riffs with the idea of ​​the perfect song and some legendary solo shredding as icing on the cake. waters and DESTROYER have been a major influence on countless well-known metal acts and musicians around the world. In fact, countless successful non-metal acts and musicians cite waters and co. as an influence in their career.

waters is the guitarist, singer and writer of DESTROYER as well as a studio owner, producer, engineer, and mixing and mastering engineer. waters formed the band with singer John Bates.

Leave a Comment